top of page
Search

Take Me to a Deserted Island


This year, I decided to join the GoodReads 2020 Reading Challenge (https://www.goodreads.com/review/list/5715136-pjmartin?shelf=2020-reading-challenge), in which participants keep a list of the books they read this year. It made me start to think: If I knew I was going to be stranded on a deserted island, what books would I want to have with me. I tried to narrow it down to a list of 10, but that's not happening! So, I've divided it into three (maybe four -- we'll see!) lists; let me know what you think!


CHILDREN'S BOOKS

* Charlotte's Web (E. B. White)

* Amelia Bedelia (Peggy Parish) -- all of them!

* The Borrowers (Mary Norton)

* From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler (E. L. Konigsburg)

* Harriet the Spy (Louise Fitzhugh)

* The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe (C. S. Lewis)

* Madeline (Ludwig Bemelmans)

* Make Way for Ducklings (Robert McCloskey)

* Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Mildred D. Taylor)

* Winnie the Pooh (A. A. Milne)


(Back-ups: Matilda, Roald Dahl; Mrs. Frisby & the Rats of NIMH, Robert C. O'Brien; The Tales of Uncle Remus: The Adventures of Brer Rabbit, Julius Lester)


CLASSICAL LITERATURE (Most of these made the list because I've never read them in their entirety!)

* The Scarlet Letter (Nathaniel Hawthorne)

* Frankenstein (Mary Shelley)

* The Canterbury Tales (Geoffrey Chaucer)

* Animal Farm (George Orwell)

* Les Miserables (Victor Hugo) -- Sorry, won't let me include the diacritical mark! * Anna Karenina (Leo Tolstoy) * War & Peace (Leo Tolstoy) * Moby Dick (Herman Melville) * Don Quixote (Miguel de Cervantes) * Dracula (Bram Stoker)

COZY MYSTERY SERIES

* Zoe Donovan (Kathi Daley) * Whales & Tales (Kathi Daley) * Writer's Retreat (Kathi Daley) * The Inn at Holiday Bay (Kathi Daley) * Cruise Ship (Hope Callaghan) * Garden Girls (Hope Callaghan) * Made in Savannah (Hope Callaghan) * Ghost-in-Law (Jana DeLeon) * Cozy Corgi (Mildred Abbot) * Ginger Gold (Lee Strauss)

MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORS

* Sir Arthur Conan Doyle * Agatha Christie * Dorothy Sayers * Sue Grafton * Elizabeth Peters * Anne Perry * Anne McCaffrey * J. K. Rowling * Dr. Seuss * Leighann Dobbs

So, which books make your "must have on a deserted island" list?

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page