top of page
Search

Where do they come from?

Can you believe this is the last week of October? It seems like it was just January yesterday!

Not long ago, someone asked where I get my ideas for characters, so I thought I’d take a stab at sharing that.



I probably shouldn’t admit it, but a lot of my characters come from real life. None of them are exact duplicates of real people, but they are inspired by them. In some cases, I have combined traits from several folks I’ve met; in others, I just take someone’s real traits and exaggerate them. I also have characters that come to me all on their own, nearly fully developed, but even they end up with a few “add ons” from people around me.



And, sometimes, I have to pull back on those personalities, instead of exaggerating them. There are several characters who are calmer, gentler versions of their inspiration, because you’d never believe in them if I described them as they really are!

Small-town South Texas offers a wealth of material, when it comes to personalities, because you know what they say – everything’s bigger in Texas!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page